Salam, Iran

I can still remember how my friends reacted when I told them I would travel to Iran in September this year. Below are the most common reactions.

“Why the hell do you want to go there?”

“Be careful, it is very dangerous.”

It sounds like they have been there, but NO. None of them has ever been to Middle East because for them, normal people would not travel to those areas. And it appears to them that at present, no other place is safe except their home.

Angry? Yes, that was how I felt. I hate racism more than anything else. However, I was not surprised at all. Sometimes, we are brainwashed by the mainstream media. But should what we see on TV and what others say be the excuses of staying put and stop traveling? Hell NO. What if I am going to tell you another Iran, where is everything but opposite to what you saw and heard before, based on my REAL experience? Will you put Iran into your bucket list?

Iranians are the most hospitable people I have ever met so far. When you ask for directions, they will take you directly to the place no matter how far it is. If you are invited to their home, they will treat you like their own family members. Although you are on the train and they are in the car, they will still wave their hands and smile to you, etc. I have many more stories like these, which keep picturing a country where many people get a wrong idea about it.

At 2340 LT on 8 Sept 2016, the plane safely arrived at Tehran IKA (Imam Khomeini Airport). Before landing, without saying anything, all women on the plane took out their hijab. It reminded me that finally, I was here. As soon as I set my feet on the Iranian soil, I realized that it was going to be another long night and Tehran IKA would be the fifth airport where I would spend the night. Passing through the passport control took much more time than I thought since for foreigners, only one line was open and for Iranians, at least three. After collecting the luggage, exchanging some money and finding the seats for sleeping, it was already one o’clock. However, this small airport was still full of people and most of them on the arrival hall were holding a bunch of flowers for their loved ones.

It was chilly at night, but I felt warm in my heart and I was ready to have adventures.

Salam, Iran.

73ea344c-87a6-4baf-a9aa-295e04d3733f_fotor
Tehran IKA

Tehran Imam Khomeini Airport

IKA is probably one of the most smallest airports I have ever been. It has only two floors, with arrival hall on the first floor and departure hall on the second.

Sim Card

On the first floor, there is one counter selling SIM card. Unless you really need to make phone calls or do urgent stuff, it is not recommended buying one here because of the extremely high price.

Money Exchange

Banks and exchange offices were available at both floors, but the exchange counter on the departure hall (2nd floor) has the best exchange rate among all of them. Actually, it is even better than the rate in downtown. Thus, it will be wise to exchange money here instead of somewhere else. FYI, the rate I got was I USD = 35,400 IRR (September, 2016). All other counters I inquired (both airport counters and counters in big cities like Tehran, Esfahan and Shiraz), the rate was 1 USD = 35,000 IRR.

 

Leave a comment